These Precious Years

 

img_3163“Wow, you sure do have your hands full!” This is a phrase I hear almost every time I go out in public with my five children. And it’s true. I generally do literally have my hands full, and probably look at least slightly frazzled most of the times I take my kids shopping.  I’m not quite sure how I’m expected to respond to a comment like that, but when I stop to think about it, I really do have my hands full, but in such a good way. My hands are full of five little humans who bring me more joy than I can express.  These little ones who require so much time and attention give back more love and joy than you would think their little bodies were capable of.  My kids range in age from 8 years old to 9months old, and I am enjoying motherhood so much I can’t imagine a more fun time to be a mom.  Sure, there is plenty of bickering, fighting, diapers, emergencies, and crying to deal with, and I usually fall into bed exhausted at night.  I certainly have a moments (sometimes hours) of frustration every day, and there are many days that I feel like I am at the end of my rope and failing miserably, but every day God gives me some ray of beautiful sunshine through my kids.  When my eight-year-old gives me a hug and tells me she couldn’t wish for a better mom, I am so thankful she feels that way in spite of all my failures.  When my baby grins at me with his 2-tooth grin, or my 2 year old yells, “I wuv you Mom!” at the top of her lungs, I am reminded that these are some of the most precious moments of my life.  When my six year old tells me she wants to grow up to be just like me or my four year old asks me to dance with him, a part of me wants them to stay this way forever.  I know that every year will be sweet and good in its own way, and I pray that my children will continue to grow in grace and love, and bring joy to everyone they meet.  Meanwhile, I will treasure this time while I have my hands full. 

img_1736

This entry was posted in Children, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

