Listening to Your Little Ones

Have you stopped and listened in on your little ones lately?  It’s one of my favorite things to do these days.  I’ve been trying to slow down and rest more with this pregnancy, and that has led me to take time to enjoy the sweet blessings I have.  If you have more than one child, you probably spend a portion of your day breaking up fights and teaching your children to treat each other with the love and respect they expect to receive, but you may not spend as much time enjoying the fruits of your labors.

One of my favorite things to do is to position myself where I can hear and possibly see my kids without them seeing me, and enjoy their sweet childish interactions.  It brings me so much joy to watch them playing church, working together to build a family of lego people, or generously sharing their favorite toys with each other.  Not to mention all the enjoyment I get from some of the hilarious things they do and say.  My 4 year old has some really funny translations of common words- she pronounces Target as Tiger for instance, and somehow all my kids learned to say “their chuthers” instead of “each other”. =)

So while it’s important to listen to your children when they are talking to you (I bet that’s what you thought this post was about when you read the title), it can be just as important to take a few minutes to listen to your children when they are not talking to you.  Not only will it likely bring a smile to your lips, but you will gain some wonderful insights into the characters of your little ones. It may even give you the chance to see yourself through their eyes, since you may overhear them repeating things you say to them.  I’ve seen some pretty convicting caricatures of myself in my kids’ games!

Remember to enjoy your children- we only get them for a few short years!

 

This entry was posted in Children, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Listening to Your Little Ones

  1. Judy Venters says:

    Very sweet, Becca. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

