Eating For 3 and Squash Chips

We are expecting another baby to join our family early next spring, so I find myself eating for 3 now… Me, the baby inside, and my 8 month old who is still nursing.

Aside from being tired and queasy much of the time, I really can’t complain.  I know this is my body’s way of telling me to slow down, and even though I don’t like slowing down, I know that it’s best for the baby and for my own health.  My stomach can’t handle some of the easy foods I used to enjoy (most grain products are out for now, and I certainly don’t do well with any processed foods) but I sure do enjoy a good steak!  My protein needs are apparently very high right now as the baby is developing his or her body structure, but I’m finding it hard to muster the energy to cook healthy food for myself and my family as often as I should.  I feel hungry pretty much all. the. time.

So what’s a girl to do?  According to my research, eat more healthy fats and veggies!  While I can eat a spoonful of coconut oil if I have to, and I thoroughly enjoy my Mom’s Simply Amazing Ice Cream, those don’t really fill my need for more veggies in my life.

That’s why I was thrilled to find a big juicy squash in my garden this morning- the first one this year!  I removed the seeds since it was pretty mature, then sliced it up thin and fried the pieces in about a half inch of coconut oil, then added pink salt and pepper when they were done.  Some were crunchy, while others were not so crunchy, but none had that soft, mushy feel that squash sometimes has when cooked.  I ate the whole thing.  I meant to share it with my little one, but she only got two slices… It really hit the spot.  I’ve had squash many ways, including Squash Ice Cream, but I would have to say, this is my favorite right now.

I hope you are enjoying some great summer veggies in fun new ways this year!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Farm, Garden, Health, Pregnancy, Recipes, Snacks, Summer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eating For 3 and Squash Chips

  1. Judy Venters says:

    Congratulations on the life within you. Am so very excited for you and the family!

  2. joanspatches says:

    Gil says you’re 100% mother! I hope you find some more easy vegetable. We have lots of tomatoes right now–easy to pair up with cheese for the protein.

Leave a Reply

