Update on Makeshift Cold Frame

Just a quick update on that makeshift strawbale cold frame I wrote about a few weeks ago…

The bad news is my tomatoes I had planted inside it died.  I’m actually not sure if they got too cold or too hot because we had nearly freezing temperatures during the night, but then it was quite sunny the next day, and I was gone all day so I didn’t get the plastic moved off during the afternoon.  When I checked on the plants that night, the tomatoes were done for.  Unfortunately, this was not a very scientific experiment since I was not around to make observations or anything, so I might just try again next year.

The good news is, I just learned how to make a straw bale garden!  So I will be using these bales to grow my sweet potatoes and other yummy veggies this year. =)

This entry was posted in Farm, Garden, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

