Spring Has Sprung!

DSCN5961

DSCN5847

My “cold frame” consists of 6 strawbales covered in 6 mil clear plastic.

DSCN5867

The finished cold frame with tomatoes and sweet potatoes planted inside.

Spring is bursting upon us here in South Carolina!  I’ve been feeling slightly overwhelmed with so much still to do to prepare for spring, yet I can’t help but welcome the gorgeous sunshine and fresh air.  Our peach and plum trees blossomed before I got around to pruning them, but I guess it’s not the end of the world that I had to prune them while they were in bloom.  I didn’t get all the baby plants started inside that I had wanted to, but I do better planting seed directly in the garden anyway usually.  I haven’t been able to get much of the early spring crops like sugar snap peas, carrots, lettuce, and radishes that I had planned to get planted either, because we have some disobedient chickens and a rooster that refuse to stay inside their pasture.  Ah, well, such is life… I guess those will be fall/winter crops this year.  I finally got my makeshift experimental cold frame made last week and planted some tomatoes and sweet potatoes in it… we will see how well it works as it’s supposed to get down into the 30s this weekend.

In addition to our baby laying hens I wrote about a few weeks ago, we have added 5 Bronze turkeys, 8 Mallard ducks and 4 Pekin ducks.  I’ll post more on them soon, with photos of their new home that we just finished building- a Saladin style chicken tractor.  We also ordered 50 meat chickens, more laying hens, geese, and ducks from Cackle Hatchery, and should be receiving them soon.  It certainly feels like spring here!

Here are some spring pictures to warm up my northern friends and family!

DSCN5907

My favorite tulip

My favorite tulip

Naomi's daffodils in full bloom!

Naomi’s daffodils in full bloom!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A lovely butterfly enjoying our pear tree

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our strawberries are already blooming and some are starting to set baby berries!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oregano coming back from last year on its own.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hansen’s Bush Cherry

I hope your spring is as fulfilling as mine!

This entry was posted in Farm, Garden, Spring, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

