Multi-Tasking and Exploding Potatoes

Pretty much everyone who knows me knows that I am a big time multi-tasker. I listen to podcasts and webinars while cooking and cleaning, work out and absorb as much vitamin D as possible while planting my garden, and research all kinds of things while nursing my baby- all while keeping laundry going in the background and teaching, training, and responding to the needs of my little ones.

Well, sometimes I take it a little too far. Yesterday I decided to make refried beans from scratch, bake potatoes to make baked potato soup, and cook some lentils as well as get some things done outside. So, I put my soaked beans on the stove to cook, got my lentils going in the crockpot, and put the potatoes in the oven. After cleaning the kitchen, I figured I had time to feed the animals and do a little gardening while the food was cooking, so I gathered up the kids and went outside. A couple hours later, I walked in the house and was alarmed at the smell of smoke. I was afraid my beans had burned, but they were fine. Completely forgetting that I had potatoes baking, I hurried to pick up my crying baby and nurse her. Then I realized that I had left the oven on, and that was where the acrid smell was coming from. I opened the oven door to find potato EXPLODED all over the oven. So today you could find me in the kitchen, scraping burnt, exploded potato off the inside of my oven. Sometimes multi-tasking backfires on me… does it ever backfire on you?

This entry was posted in Children, Dinner, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Multi-Tasking and Exploding Potatoes

  1. joanspatches says:

    Yup, I’ve given up multitasking! Did it years ago when my children were little, like yours and sometimes it did backfire.

Leave a Reply

