Tummy Soothing Wholesome Jello

I came across a wonderful, healing jello recipe!  No artificial colors or flavors, just wholesome, gut healing goodness. =)

The original recipe I found is flexible, and sounds pretty good, but I wasn’t sure my kids would go for tangy jello, so here is what I did:

First of all, I quadrupled it.  Those of you who know me personally know that I rarely make a small batch of anything. 😉  I’m sure glad I did, because my kids and I ate more than half of it today!  My 2 year old couldn’t get enough of it.  But if you want to start small, scale back to 1/4 cup water, 1 cup kombucha, 1 cup fruit, etc.

  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1/4 – 1/3 cup Grassfed gelatin (Depends on how firm you like your jello- I used close to 1/3 cup to have an almost finger food consistency.  It’s important to use good quality gelatin- it is a great gut healer and body builder.)
  • 1/2 cup raw honey (More or less depending on how sweet you like it. With the amount of fruit I added, it was plenty sweet enough for us.)
  • 5 cups kombucha (You can use fruit juice or water if you don’t have kombucha, but the kombucha adds lots of great probiotics and is the main tummy soothing ingredient.)
  • 2 cups pureed fruit of your choice (I pureed frozen blueberries with some of my kombucha in my blender before adding to the gelatin.  My picky eater suggested that I should use peaches next time though.)
  1. Pour the cold water into a saucepan and sprinkle the gelatin over.
  2. Let sit for 5 minutes.
  3. Add the honey and stir while heating just until the gelatin dissolves and the honey is incorporated.
  4. Remove from heat and add the kombucha, juice or water and pureed fruit.
  5. Pour into a couple pans or containers with lids (I like to use food storage containers with lids so I don’t have to worry about them spilling in my fridge.)

Enjoy!

 

This entry was posted in Desserts, Health, Pregnancy, Recipes, Snacks, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

