Fall Goodness

It’s officially Fall! I am really enjoying the cool weather we’ve been having after such a hot summer, though I know we’ll probably get more hot weather before the coolness stays. With the turn of the season comes apples, pears, and pumpkin in abundance! And that means I am making lots of applesauce, apple butter, pear sauce, pear butter, and pumpkin muffins!

I’ve been using this super simple method of making and canning applesauce and pearsauce.  I use the kitchen aid mixer attachment and would not want to do it any other way.  No peeling or coring needed!  Pickyourown.org also has a great recipe for apple butter. I usually use the lower amount of sugar, and it turns out delicious!  I tried a new recipe for Caramel Vanilla Pear Butter, which turned out scrumptious as well.  I adjusted the recipe to have less sugar and it still tasted like it had lots of sugar, so you may even be able to use less sugar than I currently use for this adjusted pear butter recipe.  I have also used this to make caramel vanilla apple butter for a new twist, and it turned out yummy.

For a large oval crockpot (about 12 cups of pearsauce)

  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract or vanilla bean paste
  1. Stir ingredients into crockpot full of pearsauce
  2. Set crockpot on low and cook for 8 hours or until the consistency and richness that you like.  The longer you cook it, the thicker and richer it will become.  If it is too thick and rich, try adding some juice or water or more pearsauce.
  3. Blend with a stick blender or cool and blend with a regular blender if you want a really smooth consistency.
  4. Enjoy!

I’ll be adding my favorite pumpkin muffin recipe soon!

 

This entry was posted in Fall, Recipes, Snacks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

