Morning Sickness

Pregnancies are hard for me. I am usually a pretty high energy person and I like to do things myself and help other people do things as well. I don’t like feeling sick and tired. Not one bit. So when I’m pregnant, I don’t really feel like myself, and that is frustrating. I have been really struggling with “morning sickness” lately. Make that all-day nausea. I don’t generally vomit, I just feel like I could at any moment. That, combined with feeling exhausted most of the time, no matter how much sleep I get, has led to some very unproductive weeks. So, I’ve been doing a little research to see if I can at least take care of this nausea. (And, I called my Mom in desperation the other night, begging her for a cure.) Here are some of the things she suggested and some of the things I have read that may help. I’m trying to implement these things a little at a time, and will try to post an update on how I’m feeling next week.
1. Eat regularly and eat plenty of protein
2. Get plenty of Vitamin B6 & B12
3. Get plenty of Vitamin D, specifically from sunshine (this HAS been helping! My nausea actually goes away while I’m outside in the sun!)
4. Get plenty of Magnesium (found a great post on that here)
The following are some of the suggestions from my mom:

1. Use Rescue Remedy first thing in the morning and throughout the day

2. Drink peppermint, ginger, and red raspberry leaf tea (red raspberry leaf is high in iron, magnesium, and calcium- all very important for baby and me!)

3. Relax your kidneys by laying on your back with your feet up against a wall

4. Eat Dandelion root or leaf or drink Dandelion leaf tea to help cleanse your liver which in turn will help balance your hormones and clean your blood

5. Eat Oatmeal. Or Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes… or put some oats in a sock and take an oatmeal bath.  Oats are high in magnesium and calcium and promote healthy bones and a strong nervous system.  They also aid in relaxed sleep.

6. Eat nettles- they are high in folic acid, calcium, and iron and help prevent varicose veins and hemorrhoids, as well as strengthening the kidneys and adrenals.  They also increase milk production.

7. Alfalfa is full of B vitamins, trace minerals, chlorophyll, and vitamin K.  It also increases milk production. (I’m getting back into sprouting alfalfa, which may have been helping before because I didn’t have quite as much nausea when I was eating alfalfa sprouts a few weeks ago.)

*Thanks Mom, for looking up all that info for me! (Much of it was from “Children’s Nutrition and Vaccination Information” by Elaine Newkirk)

Side note:  I do have to be a little careful about my vitamin K consumption because I have genetic mutation called Factor V Leiden, as well as another blood clotting disorder called MTHFR which causes my blood to clot more quickly than the average person and can cause blood clots to develop in my legs and, worst case scenario, obstruct the blood supply to the baby or travel to my lungs and cause a pulmonary embolism, which can lead to a rather sudden death.  During my past 3 pregnancies I haven’t had any complications with this, and I have managed it mainly through limiting my vitamin K consumption, taking fish oil which is a natural blood thinner, and staying active to keep my blood flowing.  Several doctors have suggested that I should take baby aspirin every day, but since there is no evidence that taking a baby aspirin is actually helpful in this situation, I have chosen to take responsibility for my own lifestyle and health a more natural way.  If you have any family history of blood clotting issues be sure to tell your doctor and ask to be tested for Factor V if you want to know if you have this issue.

I will be trying these things one at a time to make sure that I don’t have any negative or allergic reactions to each one.  Please remember to be careful and pay attention to your body whenever you try a new food or supplement, especially when you are pregnant.  Your body can change and you can develop new sensitivities while you are pregnant.  I have found that I am much more sensitive to certain foods while I’m pregnant than when I am not.

I hope this helps =)

Enjoy!

 

This entry was posted in Health, Pregnancy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

