Sunshine Spaghetti Sauce

One of my favorite meals to make for my family is spaghetti.  Everyone in my family can eat it, and everyone loves it, which makes my life much more pleasant.  Plus, it stretches the meat and can be made extra healthy with a few simple additions.  I used to make spaghetti by browning some ground beef, adding canned spaghetti sauce and some extra herbs and simmering for only a few minutes, but my husband seemed to like spaghetti less and less, and I finally realized that I wasn’t simmering the sauce long enough for the flavors to blend.  When my son was diagnosed with soy allergy (along with the dairy and egg that my daughter was allergic to) I was forced to start making my spaghetti sauce from scratch since only the most expensive brands of spaghetti sauce contain neither dairy nor soy, and it turned out to be a huge improvement to our spaghetti experience.
I found this amazing spaghetti sauce recipe, and have been adding some extra little healthy touches over the past year.

Below is the recipe with my little edits to make it work well for my family.  I hope you enjoy it!

TOTAL TIME: Prep: 5 min. Cook: 70 min.
MAKES: 4-6 servings
Ingredients:

* 1 pound ground turkey or beef
* 1- 4 cups shredded squash or other veggies (the tomato covers the look and taste of many mild tasting veggies)
* 1 large onion or pepper, chopped
* 2 cans (15 ounces each) tomato sauce (I use diced tomatoes and puree them before adding to meat
* 2 garlic cloves, minced
* 1-2 bay leaves
* 2 tablespoons minced fresh basil or 2 teaspoons dried basil (or more, to taste)
* 3 teaspoons minced fresh oregano or 1 teaspoon dried oregano (to taste)
* 1 tablespoon fresh or dried parsley
* 2 teaspoons sugar
* 1-2 teaspoons salt (pink Himalayan salt is great for added minerals)
* 1/2- 1 teaspoon pepper
* Hot cooked spaghetti
* Fresh oregano, optional

Directions:

1. In a Dutch oven, cook ground beef, veggies, and onion until meat is no longer pink and onion is tender; drain. Add the next eight ingredients; bring to a boil.
2. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 1 hour or more, stirring occasionally. Make sure the shredded veggies are well done and unnoticeable.  Remove the bay leaf. Serve with spaghetti. Garnish with oregano if desired. Yield: 4-6 servings (about 1 quart).

If you have a favorite family recipe, please share it in the comments.
Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Dinner, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunshine Spaghetti Sauce

  1. Pingback: What’s Cooking On Friday’s? | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

Leave a Reply

