My Best Pancake Recipe (aka oatmeal cookie pancakes)

I have tried so many pancake recipes in the last year, trying to find an egg free, dairy free recipe that didn’t fall apart or stick to the griddle. Finally I gave up and made up my own recipe. My kids and I enjoy these plain or with chocolate chips melted on top. My 4 year old said they taste like cookies, and I must say, they do remind me of oatmeal cookies, so if you’ve been craving some oatmeal cookies but you can’t have butter or eggs, try these. We eat them for snacks on the go as well as breakfast. If you substitute ground chia seed for the ground flax seed to make the “flax egg” you get some super healthy high protein snacks =)
Here is the recipe:

Oatmeal cookie pancakes with GF and chocolate options



2 Flax or chia eggs (mix 2 tbsp ground flax or chia seed with 1/2 cup warm water and let sit until you mix dry ingredients.)
1 generous cup quick or quaker or steel cut oats (just cook the steel cut oats a little and use the cooking water to replace all or part of the water in this recipe)
1 generous cup whole wheat flour (or equitable flour of your choice- 1/4 cup coconut flour works perfectly as a gluten free option.  You do need to cook the pancakes on very low heat for a longer period of time when using coconut flour though.  Also, barley and rye as well as Ezekiel blend have been good substitutions.)
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp cinnamon (you can use other spices and adjust the amount to suit your taste- we just love cinnamon =)
1/4 cup oil (I like to use coconut because of the yummy taste and health benefits, but I’m sure any oil would work)
about 1 cup water

Optional: add 1/4 cup cocoa to make these chocolate pancakes.

Mix up flax egg first, and set aside.
Mix together dry ingredients.
Add oil, flax egg, and water to make a slightly thick batter (it actually is about the consistency of thick oatmeal) You may need to let the batter sit a minute or two to determine if you need to add more water or not. whole wheat flour tends to absorb more water than white flour, and coconut flour absorbs an enormous amount of water compared to most flours, so be flexible and adjust as needed.
Heat your griddle before spooning on the pancake batter for best results and cook over low to medium low heat to avoid burning (especially if you tend to get distracted like I do- low heat is a must when potty training little ones!)

We enjoy these warm (plain or with chocolate chips on top) and cold. Sometimes I spread the melted chocolate chips on top and pop these babies in the fridge until the chocolate hardens so we can take these with us for breakfast on early morning days, like our weekly Classical Conversations day. Oh, and if you can’t have dairy or soy, the only chocolate chips I have found that contain neither are Enjoy Life chocolate chips. I usually pay about $4.00 per 10 oz bag at Kroger, so you may want to use sparingly… The best deal I have found on them so far is this buy one, get one 50% off sale at Vitacost.

Please add any yummy adjustments you make to the comments section so we can all enjoy some variations.Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Best Pancake Recipe (aka oatmeal cookie pancakes)

  1. chwilowki says:

    Good website! I truly love how it is simple on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

    • rfmarion1 says:

      Thank you so much! I hope my blog can be a blessing and help to many. And yes, subscribing to my feed should do the trick to keep you notified. =) I’m working on a few more posts that I will be uploading in the the next week or so, and I hope you find something useful in them.

Leave a Reply

