Brownie Bites

This is my go-to dessert recipe that I try to always keep on hand for my kids.  If we run out, my 4 year old reminds me that we need to make more brownie bites every day until I get some made.  Don’t get me wrong, we don’t eat them every day, but these little gems are so healthy and delicious that they make the perfect dessert on days when the kids need just a little more motivation to finish their dinner without complaining, and therefore are very important to have on hand.  By the way, they store for weeks in the fridge, so you don’t have to worry about gobbling them down before they go bad (not that you won’t be tempted to gobble them down anyway…) And yes, these are an excellent chocolate fix for “that time of the month”, especially if you can’t have soy, which is in nearly every chocolate chip and bar.  They were my mood-savers when I was nursing my son and sticking to a very strict elimination diet with him.  Oh, did I forget to mention that he and I are now sensitive to almonds and walnuts?  We are.  I never used to have a problem with them, but recently I noticed that my tongue feels rather funny and uncomfortable every time I eat something with almonds or walnuts in it. =(. *Update: we can both eat almonds with no problem now!
The original recipe for Raw vegan coconut brownies calls for 1/2 cup of raw almonds or walnuts, but I just substitute 1/2 cup coconut (in addition to the 1/4 cup coconut) or occasionally hulled raw sunflower seeds for the nuts, and they turn out great!  My kids like to help me roll the “dough” into bite-size balls which we affectionately call “brownie bites”.

Brownie Bites By Becca

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup shelled Pumpkin seeds (pepitas) or Sunflower seeds (or mixture)
  • 1/4 cup Unsweetened Coconut
  • 1 cup packed medjool dates, seeds removed
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • pinch sea salt
  • dash vanilla

Directions:

  1. Grind seeds into a mealy flour in food processor.  Set aside in a bowl.
  2. Process dates in food processor until they form a sort of sticky dough or paste.
  3. Add seeds, cocoa, sea salt, and vanilla, and pulse until combined.
  4. Form into balls.
  5. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Desserts, Recipes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brownie Bites

  1. Pingback: Fighting Colds, Flu, and Sore Throats Naturally | makingendsmeetblog

Leave a Reply

